
Presence sensor · Thread
Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
Brand comparison · October 2026
Both sell Matter hubs, locks and switches. Aqara’s certified products mostly use Thread; SwitchBot’s mostly use Wi-Fi. Here is what that means, from the CSA records and the makers’ own words on file.
Source-based: certification records, makers’ and platforms’ own pages, and retailer listings. We have not performed hands-on testing. Editorial policy
We may earn a commission from purchases through our links. How our links work
Short answer
Aqara or SwitchBot: which should I choose for Matter?
Choose by the device and the network you want. Both make certified hubs, locks and switches. Only Aqara has certified sensors in our US list; only SwitchBot has certified air purifiers, lights, robot vacuums, climate devices and fans. (our catalog)
Aqara’s certified products that name a network use Thread (9), so they need a Thread border router; SwitchBot’s mostly use Wi-Fi (22), so they need only your platform’s Matter hub. (our catalog)
We list 15 Aqara products and 24 SwitchBot products that are CSA certified for the exact model and sold in the US. Aqara: 5 hubs and bridges, 4 sensors, 3 locks and 3 switches. SwitchBot: 6 robot vacuums, 4 hubs and bridges, 3 air purifiers, 3 locks, 3 switches, 2 lights, 1 climate device, 1 fan or fan control and 1 other device. (our catalog)
Every cell is counted from our records of the products that are CSA certified for the exact model and sold in the US. It is a count, not a ranking. (our catalog)
| Compared | Aqara | SwitchBot |
|---|---|---|
| CSA-certified products sold in the US | 15 products (our catalog) | 24 products (our catalog) |
| By type | 5 hubs and bridges, 4 sensors, 3 locks and 3 switches (our catalog) | 6 robot vacuums, 4 hubs and bridges, 3 air purifiers, 3 locks, 3 switches, 2 lights, 1 climate device, 1 fan or fan control and 1 other device (our catalog) |
| Matter network (from the records) | 9 Thread, 6 not stated in the record (our catalog) | 22 Wi-Fi, 2 not stated in the record (our catalog) |
| Thread border router needed | Yes, for its 9 Thread products (our catalog) | No: none of these names Thread (our catalog) |
| Hubs and bridges in the lineup | Aqara Hub M2, Aqara Hub M3 Smart Home Hub, Aqara Smart Hub M200, Aqara Camera Hub G350 and Aqara Camera Hub (our catalog) | SwitchBot Hub 2, SwitchBot Hub 3, SwitchBot AI Hub and SwitchBot Hub Mini Matter Enabled (W0202203) (our catalog) |
| Platforms the records list | Apple Home 13 · Alexa 12 · Google Home 11 · SmartThings 10 (our catalog) | Apple Home 8 · Alexa 7 · Google Home 7 · SmartThings 3 (our catalog) |
| Maker’s own page on file names a platform | 10 of 15 (makers’ pages; our catalog) | 5 of 24 (makers’ pages; our catalog) |
| Stores we link | Amazon for 15, another store for 13 (our catalog) | Amazon for 16, another store for 22 (our catalog) |
Sensors: Aqara. We list certified Aqara presence, motion and multi-state sensors, all over Thread; SwitchBot has no certified sensor in our US list. (our catalog)
Robot vacuums and air purifiers: SwitchBot. Aqara has none certified in our US list. (our catalog)
Hubs: both, for different jobs. Aqara says its Hub M3, as a Matter bridge, brings existing Aqara Zigbee devices into Matter apps like Apple Home. SwitchBot says its Hub 2 lets you use Alexa, Google Home and Apple Home. (makers’ pages)
Locks: both. Aqara says its U400 uses Matter over Thread; SwitchBot says its Lock Vision uses Matter over Wi-Fi with no hub needed. (makers’ pages; our catalog)
Aqara’s and SwitchBot’s pages are on our never-request list, so for them this guide uses the CSA records and the makers’ own words already on file, each quote linked and dated. (makers’ pages; our catalog)
Each pick is CSA certified for the exact model, sold in the US with a verified store link, and has its own product page. Different kinds of product from each side, so the picks show the range; it is not a ranking.
Different kinds of Aqara product, all CSA certified and sold in the US.

Presence sensor · Thread
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
What the maker says: “FP400 supports dual Thread and Zigbee protocols for easy integration with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Alexa, and SmartThings.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Smart lock · Thread
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
What the maker says: “Powered by Matter over Thread, the Smart Lock U400 works by design with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and other ecosystems” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Wall dimmer · Thread
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
What the maker says: “Use Thread for a direct, hub-free connection to your favorite Matter ecosystems like Apple Home, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa, enjoying lightning-fast, ultra-reliable local control.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Amazon
What the maker says: “As a Matter bridge, the M3 Hub exposes existing Aqara Zigbee devices to Matter-compatible apps like Apple Home” Maker’s page, read Oct 1, 2026
Different kinds of SwitchBot product, all CSA certified and sold in the US.

Hub and Matter bridge · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Before you buy
SwitchBot app, current firmware and a compatible Matter controller for your chosen platform. Check the compatibility list for your exact accessory and Hub 2; support varies by hub and feature. No Thread border router. Not every SwitchBot accessory or infrared function is exposed through Matter; some integrations are beta.
Manufacturer requirements · checked 2026-09-16Amazon
What the maker says: “Our hub also allows you to use third-party smart assistants such as Alexa, Google Home, and Apple Home for an even better smart home experience.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Smart lock · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
SwitchBot US
What the maker says: “No Hub, Matter over Wi-Fi: Built-in Wi-Fi, no hub needed. CSA-certified Matter connects directly to Apple Home with Siri voice unlock.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Relay switch · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
What the maker says: “Matter Compatible Matter devices can be consolidated and used on multiple platforms, such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.* *Smart assistant device required.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026
Amazon
Neither is better for every home. Aqara’s certified products are mostly Thread sensors, locks and switches; SwitchBot’s are mostly Wi-Fi hubs, locks, switches, robot vacuums and air purifiers. Pick the device you need, then check that your platform has a Thread border router if it is a Thread device. (our catalog)
Not the Thread ones: a Matter-over-Thread device joins your platform through its Thread border router. Aqara says its Dimmer Switch H2 uses Thread for a direct, hub-free connection to Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa. For Aqara’s Zigbee devices, Aqara says its Hub M3, as a Matter bridge, brings them into Matter apps like Apple Home. (makers’ pages; our catalog)
Not the ones certified for Matter over Wi-Fi: SwitchBot says its Lock Vision needs no hub. Our records list SwitchBot’s Hub 2 as a Matter bridge, and SwitchBot says the Hub 2 lets you use Alexa, Google Home and Apple Home. (makers’ pages; our catalog)
Yes, in one Matter platform: Matter devices from different brands work side by side in Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa or SmartThings. (Google: Matter hubs, read Oct 21, 2026; makers’ pages)
Platform support is named only where the platform or the maker says it. Counts are computed from our catalog at each build. Prices on the pick cards come from the latest check and are confirmed at the store.