
Light strip · Wi-Fi
Govee LED Strip Lights 2
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
Brand comparison · October 2026
Both make Wi-Fi Matter lights, so neither needs a Thread border router. The difference is the range: what else each one makes, from the CSA records and each maker’s own Matter page.
Source-based: certification records, makers’ and platforms’ own pages, and retailer listings. We have not performed hands-on testing. Editorial policy
We may earn a commission from purchases through our links. How our links work
Short answer
Govee or LIFX: which should I choose for Matter?
Choose by the light you need, not the brand. Both make certified lights. Only Govee has certified fans, plugs, air purifiers and climate devices in our US list; only LIFX has certified switches. (our catalog)
We list 131 Govee products and 33 LIFX products that are CSA certified for the exact model and sold in the US. Govee: 119 lights, 4 air purifiers, 3 climate devices, 3 fans and fan controls, 1 other device and 1 plug. LIFX: 31 lights and 2 switches. (our catalog)
By the records, none of the Govee records names Thread, so Govee needs no Thread border router; none of the LIFX records names Thread, so LIFX needs no Thread border router. Govee says its Matter is based on Wi-Fi; LIFX says the majority of its new products ship with Matter enabled. (our catalog; Govee, read Oct 22, 2026; LIFX, read Oct 22, 2026)
Every cell is counted from our records of the products that are CSA certified for the exact model and sold in the US. It is a count, not a ranking. (our catalog)
| Compared | Govee | LIFX |
|---|---|---|
| CSA-certified products sold in the US | 131 products (our catalog) | 33 products (our catalog) |
| By type | 119 lights, 4 air purifiers, 3 climate devices, 3 fans and fan controls, 1 other device and 1 plug (our catalog) | 31 lights and 2 switches (our catalog) |
| Matter network (from the records) | 130 Wi-Fi, 1 not stated in the record (our catalog) | 20 Wi-Fi, 13 not stated in the record (our catalog) |
| Thread border router needed | No: none of these names Thread (our catalog) | No: none of these names Thread (our catalog) |
| Hubs and bridges in the lineup | None in this list (our catalog) | None in this list (our catalog) |
| Platforms the records list | Apple Home 63 · Alexa 79 · Google Home 69 · SmartThings 35 (our catalog) | Apple Home 14 · Alexa 14 · Google Home 14 · SmartThings 5 (our catalog) |
| Maker’s own page on file names a platform | 26 of 131 (makers’ pages; our catalog) | 3 of 33 (makers’ pages; our catalog) |
| Stores we link | Amazon for 111, another store for 115 (our catalog) | Amazon for 21, another store for 31 (our catalog) |
Bulbs, strips, ceiling and outdoor lights: both make certified ones. Compare the exact model, its network and the platforms its product page lists. (our catalog)
Beyond lights: Govee. We list certified Govee fans, air purifiers and humidifiers; LIFX has none in our US list. (our catalog)
A wall switch for your lights: LIFX. Govee has no certified switch in our US list. (our catalog)
What Matter controls on a light: Govee lists switching on and off, brightness, color temperature and color as the features its Matter lights support today; effects stay in the maker’s app. Govee says you can keep using its app after you add the light to Matter. (Govee, read Oct 22, 2026)
Govee says its earlier products will not support Matter because of hardware limitations. (Govee, read Oct 22, 2026)
LIFX lists the models that ship with Matter enabled; for those, it says a unit whose firmware version starts with v3 will not support Matter. It says it is working on Matter updates for existing devices that can support it, but Matter is more resource intensive, so it has not been able to bring it to every device type. (LIFX, read Oct 22, 2026)
Every product in this guide has its own CSA certificate on file; a listing that only says “Matter compatible” is not counted. (our catalog)
Each pick is CSA certified for the exact model, sold in the US with a verified store link, and has its own product page. Different kinds of product from each side, so the picks show the range; it is not a ranking.
Different kinds of Govee product, all CSA certified and sold in the US.

Light strip · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
What the maker says: “Compatible with Matter, Alexa, Google Home, and Govee Home App.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Light bulb · Wi-Fi
Listed for Amazon Alexa
Govee
What the maker says: “Easy Smart Control: Control the smart bulbs remotely using Govee Home App or voice control via Alexa, Matter or Google Assistant.” Maker’s page, read Oct 12, 2026

Table lamp · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
What the maker says: “Smart Control: Supports Alexa, Google, Matter, and SmartThings, plus app control, AI Lighting Bot, and Auto-Run for a truly smart experience.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Ceiling fan · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
What the maker says: “Voice Control Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026
Different kinds of LIFX product, all CSA certified and sold in the US.

Light bulb · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings
Amazon
What the maker says: “No hub needed. Works with: Apple Home Amazon Alexa Google Home SmartThings” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Ceiling light · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon

Path light · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
What the maker says: “Works with Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, and SmartThings.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026

Wall switch · Wi-Fi
Listed for Apple Home, Amazon Alexa and Google Home
Amazon
What the maker says: “Use it to control lights, trigger scenes, and run automations across Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, and Samsung SmartThings, giving you seamless control beyond a single ecosystem.” Maker’s page, read Oct 7, 2026
Neither is better for every home. Both make certified Wi-Fi Matter lights. Govee’s certified US lineup is larger (131 products against 33) and includes fans, air purifiers and humidifiers; LIFX has certified wall switches. (our catalog)
They need your platform’s Matter controller, not a brand hub: Govee says a Matter hub or controller is required, and LIFX’s page for its Color A19 says no hub is needed. Neither brand’s certified products we list name Thread, so no Thread border router is needed. (Govee, read Oct 22, 2026; makers’ pages; our catalog)
Check the exact model. Govee says its earlier products will not support Matter because of hardware limitations. LIFX lists the models that ship with Matter enabled, and says it is working on Matter updates for existing devices that can support it, though not every device type. (Govee, read Oct 22, 2026; LIFX, read Oct 22, 2026)
Yes, in one Matter platform: Google says all Matter-enabled end devices work with each other. (Google: Matter hubs, read Oct 22, 2026)
Platform support is named only where the platform or the maker says it. Counts are computed from our catalog at each build. Prices on the pick cards come from the latest check and are confirmed at the store.