Skip to main content
mattercatalog

Philips Hue vs Nanoleaf Essentials: Matter A19 Bulbs Compared

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 vs Nanoleaf Essentials A19 for Matter: Thread, the Hue Bridge option, brightness on record, certificates and platforms.

Two Thread color bulbs: one that can also use a Hue Bridge

We may earn a commission. How our links work

Quick verdict

Both are A19 bulbs that join Matter over Thread with a CSA certificate on file, so each needs a Thread border router and a Matter controller. Pick the Hue bulb if you have or want a Hue Bridge, which Hue says every Hue product can use for Matter; pick Nanoleaf Essentials for a three-pack from Nanoleaf’s own store.

Which one for your home

  • You have, or plan to add, a Hue Bridge: Philips Hue A19

    Hue says every Hue product also works with Matter through a Hue Bridge, which keeps Hue features; Matter-enabled Hue bulbs can also join directly over Thread.

  • You want a three-pack from the maker’s own store: Nanoleaf Essentials A19

    The Nanoleaf store link on its record is a three-pack.

  • You want Matter over Thread with no maker bridge: either one

    Both are Thread bulbs with a CSA certificate on file; each needs a Thread border router and a Matter controller.

  • You want the brightness stated on the box: Philips Hue A19

    The Hue record is the 60 W equivalent, 810 lm bulb; the Nanoleaf record does not state lumens.

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 E26 Smart Bulb, 60W Equivalent (810 lm)

Philips Hue

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 E26 Smart Bulb, 60W Equivalent (810 lm)

Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 E26 Smart Bulb, 60W Equivalent (810 lm) from Philips Hue, sold on Hue’s US store as part 929003853701 (UPC 046677590826). The CSA lists this North…

Price
Price at retailer
Protocol
Thread, Bluetooth, Zigbee
HomeKit
Yes
Alexa
Yes

Certification proof: CSA25G0FMAT48993-24 on the CSA registry

Side by side

The first rows repeat each product page, read from its catalog record. The rest quote the maker or the record, with the source linked in each cell. Prices load in your browser only when a store price was checked in the last 48 hours or an Amazon price was retrieved in the last 24 hours.

WhatPhilips Hue A19Nanoleaf Essentials A19
Current price
See price at Amazon
See price at Nanoleaf
CSA Matter certificateCSA25G0FMAT48993-24 (Dec 11, 2025)CSA2430CMAT43455-24 (May 30, 2024)
Matter network (its record)ThreadThread
Needs a Thread border router?Yes, plus a Matter controllerYes, plus a Matter controller
Platforms the maker namesApple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThingsApple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
Stores we linkAmazon, Philips HueNanoleaf
Ways into MatterDirectly over Thread, or through a Hue Bridge. SourceDirectly over Thread. Its catalog record
Brightness on its record810 lm (60 W equivalent). Its catalog recordNot stated on its record. Its catalog record
Radios on its recordThread, Bluetooth, Zigbee. Its catalog recordThread, Bluetooth. Its catalog record

Which to choose when

Choose Philips Hue A19 when…

Choose the Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 (810 lm) when you have, or want, a Hue Bridge: Hue says every Hue product also works with Matter through the Bridge, while Matter-enabled Hue bulbs can join directly over Thread. It carries CSA certificate CSA25G0FMAT48993-24 (December 2025) and is linked on Hue’s US store.

Choose Nanoleaf Essentials A19 when…

Choose Nanoleaf Essentials A19 when you want Thread A19 bulbs as a three-pack from Nanoleaf’s own store, with no maker bridge in the plan. It carries CSA certificate CSA2430CMAT43455-24 (May 2024), and Nanoleaf’s page names Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.

What the catalog records show

The same answers each product page gives, from its catalog record and verified store links; a platform is named as confirmed only where the maker’s own site names it.

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance A19 E26 Smart Bulb, 60W Equivalent (810 lm)

Is this light Matter certified?
Yes. MatterCatalog matches it to CSA Matter certificate CSA25G0FMAT48993-24, certified Dec 11, 2025.
Which smart home platforms does this light work with?
The maker’s own site names Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings. Controls can differ from app to app.
Does this light use Thread or Wi-Fi?
Thread. Its catalog record lists Thread, and Matter devices that use Thread need a Thread border router in the home, in addition to your platform’s Matter controller.
Where can I buy this light?
MatterCatalog has verified store links for it at Amazon and Philips Hue. Check the current price, model and pack size at the store.

Nanoleaf Essentials A19-A60

Is the Nanoleaf Essentials A19-A60 Matter certified?
Yes. MatterCatalog matches it to CSA Matter certificate CSA2430CMAT43455-24, certified May 30, 2024.
Which smart home platforms does the Nanoleaf Essentials A19-A60 work with?
The maker’s own site names Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings. Controls can differ from app to app.
Does the Nanoleaf Essentials A19-A60 use Thread or Wi-Fi?
Thread. Its catalog record lists Thread, and Matter devices that use Thread need a Thread border router in the home, in addition to your platform’s Matter controller.
Where can I buy the Nanoleaf Essentials A19-A60?
MatterCatalog has verified store links for it at Nanoleaf. Check the current price, model and pack size at the store.

What they share

  • Both have a CSA Matter certificate on file.
  • Both join Matter over Thread, so both need a Thread border router and a Matter controller.
  • The makers name Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings for both.
  • Both have US store links on their product pages.

Product, category and brand pages

IKEA vs Philips Hue Matter Lighting →Nanoleaf Essentials vs LIFX Matter Bulb →

Before you buy

  • Thread: both bulbs need a Thread border router and a Matter controller when used over Matter directly.
  • Hue Bridge: only the Hue bulb can also run through a Hue Bridge, which Hue says keeps Hue features.
  • Pack: the Nanoleaf store link is a three-pack; the Hue link is a single bulb. Check the pack at the store.
  • Brightness: the Hue record is the 810 lm, 60 W-equivalent bulb. The Nanoleaf record does not state lumens, so check the listing.

Common questions

Philips Hue vs Nanoleaf: which works with Matter and Thread?
Both of these A19 bulbs join Matter over Thread and have a CSA certificate on file. The Hue bulb can also join Matter through a Hue Bridge.
Do Hue Matter bulbs need a Hue Bridge?
No. Hue says Matter-enabled Hue bulbs can connect directly to a Matter platform through a Thread border router, and that every Hue product also works with Matter through a Hue Bridge.
Where can I compare IKEA and Hue?
IKEA vs Philips Hue is a separate guide on MatterCatalog, linked below.

How this page was made

We have not performed hands-on testing. This page is built from MatterCatalog’s catalog records: each product’s CSA certificate and its scope, the network and platforms its record lists, the maker’s setup requirements and the stores with a verified link. It does not rank performance, reliability or price; check the current price, model and pack size at the store. Editorial policy